Don Quixote

Today, I will be contrasting (more or less) these two statements. They wre both made by the fictional character ‘Don Quixote’. (These may not be the exact oaths he ‘took’, but I’m not sure where those are or if the quotes below are them.)

“the order of knight-errantry was instituted to defend maidens, to protect widows, and to rescue orphans and distressed persons,”

“Forgive me, my friend, that I led thee to seem as mad as myself, making thee fall into the same error I myself fell into, that there were and still are knights-errant in the world.”

-Don Quixote, Don Quixote.

So basically, at first, in his madness, Quixote wholeheartedly believes that knights-errant still go on quests and the like. He believe that he is a knight, and eagerly explains things. In the second quote, Quixote has recovered from his madness, but is on his deathbed. He apologizes, admits he was wrong, and basically reverses his previous quote.

Leave a comment